Archive for Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Incumbents fall in Bonner, Edwardsville council races

Bynum wins Unified Government At-Large Commissioner

April 7, 2015

Newcomers nearly made a clean sweep of city council incumbents in Bonner Springs, and a newcomer also unseated an incumbent in Edwardsville.

In final but unofficial results from the Wyandotte County Election Office, the only Bonner Springs incumbent to survive Tuesday's election was Bob Reeves in Ward 3, Meanwhile Edwardsville incumbent Garrett Mellott received the fewest votes of five candidates for three at-large Edwardsville City Council seats and newcomer Chuck Stites received the most votes. Overall voter turnout in the county was 15.28 percent. Bonner Springs's turnout was closer to 20 percent, while 21 percent of Edwardsville voters made it to the polls.

Incumbent upsets were the theme in Bonner Springs. In Ward 1, Mike Thompson garnered 130 votes to incumbent Jack Knight's 84, while in Ward 2, Dani Gurley edged out incumbent Racheal Haas 79 votes to 61 votes. In Ward 4, Mark Kipp garnered the largest win, with 180 votes, or 67 percent of the total, to incumbent Eric Freeman's 82 votes.

Bob Reeves was the lone contested incumbent to survive the election, winning with 111 votes to challenger Jordan Mackey's 74. Of course, one other incumbent was guaranteed a win: Mayor Jeff Harrington received 690 votes, though interestingly, there were 36 write-in votes for mayor.

In Edwardsville, the race between five candidates for three at-large council seats was a little closer. Stites was the clear overall winner with 316 votes, followed by incumbent Chuck Adams with 229 votes. Craig Crider narrowly edged out Terrence Dunn for the third council seat, 198 votes to 193 votes. Mellott trailed with 183 votes.

The four USD 204 Board of Education incumbents were re-elected with no challengers, though some still received fewer votes. Patricia Welicky totaled 730 and Olliea Jarrett 763, compared to Tim McGinnis's 824 and David Pierce's 816. There were 13 write-in votes.

In a countywide race, Melissa Brune Bynum won the At-Large Position 1 seat on the Unified Government's Board of Commissioners. Bynum brought in 5,408 votes, or 52 percent of the total, to Mark Gilstrap's 4,128.

For the Kansas City Kansas Community College Board of Trustees, all four incumbents were re-elected. They only had one challenger, Victor Trammell, who trailed the incumbents' vote totals by a large margin.

Nancy Burns was uncontested in seeking re-election as register of deeds.

Votes will not be final until the Board of Canvassers meets to review the totals.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.